AGM and Beadfair Sept 19th 2009

We have decided to hold the 2009 Annual General Meeting of Glass Beadmakers UK on Saturday September 19th at the Highgate House Hotel, Creaton, Northampton. NN6 8NN.

As well as the Annual General Meeting – which I hope as many of you can attend as possible – we are also planning our own small Bead Fair which is to be open to the public.
We have room for around thirty tables and would like to encourage members to come along and sell their wares. We will also have Tuffnell Glass selling at this event so if you wish to stock up on glass and other goodies this is a marvellous opportunity to buy your glass “in the flesh!”

Unlike other bead fairs we are offering these tables FREE to our members so that if you have never tried selling your beads, or have never sold at a beadfair then this is a great opportunity to do so in a risk free and friendly environment. It will also gives us all an opportunity to see each other, socialise and take a look at each others work. You may even make a little money too! This will one of very few lampwork glass bead fairs in the country so I expect interest to be high.

Tables are offered on a first come first served basis and to book you must apply to GBUK using the Booking form which has been emailed out to members. Please note that you must be a GBUK member to reserve a table and you must also agree to attend the AGM as a condition of accepting the table. We are also asking members to send a deposit of £50 which will be fully refundable on attendance. This is purely to ensure that people turn up and will not be cashed unless you fail to attend.

We are trying to keep this as friendly and as informal as we can and so if you are a little intimidated by the thought of selling your work and would like to share a table with someone this is acceptable – please let us know if you wish to do so.

The GBUK Bead Fair will be advertised in magazines and press so we hope to have a large turnout of the general public. Public admission will be £2.00.

Anyone attending the AGM will have lunch provided for free so please let us know if you wish to attend as we can calculate the lunch numbers. All members are encouraged to attend the AGM regardless of whether or not they have booked a table at the Bead Fair.

A booking form has been emailed out. Please fill it in and let us know as soon as possible (before end of July) if you would like to attend. Bead fair tables are strictly on a first come first served basis and won’t be allocated until booking forms and deposits are received.

Highgate House is very well equipped for corporate conferencing and there is a lovely restaurant available with a large variety of snacks/full lunches available for non GBUK members who wish to accompany you.

I will provide more details in a week or so but we expect the day to proceed as follows:

7.00 – 10.00 am Bead Fair set-up

10.00 – 12.00 Annual General Meeting

12.00 – 1.00 Lunch

1.00 – 5pm GBUK Bead Fair

5.00 – 6.00 pm Bead fair pack-up time.

Accommodation is available at the hotel at the “Wedding Rate” for anyone wishing to stay over.

More details will follow as we finalise them. Also once setup, details will be available at www.gbukbeadfair.co.uk (currently this still contains information about the Stourbridge bead fair)

Would love to see as many of you as possible on 19th September!

The current list of exhibitors are…

Ray Skene – Celtic Glass http://www.celticglass.co.uk
Dawn Shackley – Revontulet http://www.revontulet.co.uk
Chrystal Adcock – Chrystalrosedesigns http://www.chrystalrosedesigncrafts.com
Sabine Little – Little Castle Designs http://www.littlecastledesigns.co.uk
Charlotte Dakin-Norris – Big Bang Beads http://www.bigbangbeads.com
Kirsty Bryan http://www.huppabellabeads.co.uk
Sarah Bedwell – FlameForceFive http://www.flameforcefive.com
Becky Fairclough – Chameleon Designs http://www.chameleondesigns.co.uk
Lyn Gutteridge – Twirly Beads http://www.twirlybeads.co.uk
Ingrid Jarvis – Aura Art Glass http://www.auraartglass.com
Dianne Cracknell – DizzyDi http://www.dizzydi.co.uk
Sarah Downton – http://www.sarahdownton.co.uk
Nelli Rees – Bead Mon Amour http://www.beadmonamour.co.uk
Bob Martin
Rebecca Weddell – http://www.rebeccaweddell.co.uk
Colette Ladley, Trudi Doherty, Shirley Giles – Fyrebirds http://www.fyrebirds.co.uk
Natasha Fountain – http://www.phoenixbeads.co.uk
Barbara Mason – Studio B http://www.glass-beads.co.uk
Sue Wigmore – Bead Counter http://www.beadcounter.com
Pauline Holt – Jazzy Lily http://www.jazzylily.com
Julie Fountain – Lush Lampwork http://www.lushlampwork.co.uk
Diana East – Diana East Glass http://www.glass2wear.com
Sally Carver – Redhotsal http://www.redhotsal.co.uk
Samantha Capeling, Jolene Wolf – Blackheart Beads/Kitzbits http://www.kitzbitzartglass.com/
Tuffnell Glass – http://www.tuffnellglass.com
Proops Brothers –http://www.proopsbrothers.com